September 2016 Wrap-Up/October 2016 TBR

Last month wrecked me. Completely.  More specifically, the Throne of Glass series wiped me out. Continue reading

Empire of Storms

It took me about a month and half to get to this book.  Almost my entire September 2016 TBR was geared toward getting to this book.  IT WAS WORTH IT!

Read ahead to hear me gushing and fangirling over this book, but be forewarned: THIS IS A REVIEW FULL OF SPOILERS.  I want you to be able to freak out with me, so please, if you have not read this novel yet (and don’t want any spoilers), turn back until you have read it.  Then rush back here and go crazy with me! Continue reading

September 2016 Uppercase vs Owlcrate

This is it.  The final month of my 3 month Owlcrate subscription.  As promised, a three-month winner will be announced along with the showdown this month.  It will also include an analysis of the best and worst attributes of subscribing to each box. More on that later… Continue reading

Rapid-Fire Book Tag

So, once again, I must admit that I do not have enough book blogger friends to tag me for a post.  Oh well!

I found this tag when Youtube’s Jessethereader did it.  I’m not sure if its a tag that exclusive to Youtube.  A blog post is a bit off since I can’t give you readers my unfilter first-thing-that-pops-into-my-head answer to these question, but I tried my hardest to do so! Continue reading

August 2016 Wrap-Up/ September 2016 TBR

I swear I’m usually not this bad about reading.  I have been a total fail these past months. Excuse time: My life has been turned upside down lately.  I lost my job, which always fun.  I had know that I might be losing my job since I think the end of July or early August. I kept thinking it was a distant possibility. Even with the prior knowledge, it still threw me for a loop when it happened.  I had been working in a financial setting, which is what I went to school for.  Losing my job has basically given me a clean slate, so to speak.  Right now I have two options: find another job at another financial institution or follow my passion and become a teacher.  Following my passion would involve me going back to school for about a year.  Between anxiety and depression, I’ve haven’t really felt like reading or blogging.  This unfortunately might be the case until I figure out what to do.  If it’s going job hunting, then I might be in this slump until I find another job. Please bare with me until I get my life sorted out. Hopefully it’ll be soon!

I know that this post is pretty late going up.  I’ve already finished some of my September TBR, not gonna lie.  But, hey, that means that I just might finish my list this month!

August 2016 Wrap-Up

In case you aren’t completely obsessed with my blog and have superhuman memory, here is a screenshot of my August 2016 TBR:

august-2016-tbr

Look how innocent and naive I was when I was making that list.  Such a summer child.

Out of the seven books on that list, I finished 4.5; a deceiving number since ONCE AGAIN UPPERCASE AND OWLCRATE SENT OUT THE SAME FUCKING BOOK AGAIN!! What are you talking about? I’m not still bitter about it!

#1 was read in a few hours. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was a huge disappointment.  So much so that I’m going to pretend that it never happened.  There are hell of a lot more satisfying fan-fictions out there then this crap.

#2 I received a few days before I got fired.  I had started reading it, but since I know that it is a sad story, I didn’t want to make myself even more depressed by finishing it.  I’m not sure if I am going to read it this month, so I’m going to leave it out of my TBR for now.

#3 & #4 was a short read.  The book was P.S. I Like You by Kasie West.  It was part of both of my bookish subscription boxes for August. Click the link to read my August 2016 Uppercase vs Owlcrate + Mini-Review of the book.

#5 I finished.  I had bought the book months ago in e-book form, and for some reason, I never got into it.  I had some reward points to use up, so I decided to get the hard copy.  I’m happy I picked it up again.  It was really great and gave some backstory about Throne of Glass main character, Celaena Sardothien.  I never realized how much the series referenced this book.  It gave great insight to why Celaena acts the way she does.  For those of you wanting to get into the series, I highly recommend reading this first.  It’s not required, and you can definitely get by without it, but I do love how it fleshes out some of the storylines.

#6 was halfway finished when the month ended. More about it below.

#7 I didn’t read during this month.  More about it below.

September 2016 TBR

One upside of not having a job: unlimited free time to do whatever the hell you want! YAASSS!  Other than the first 5 books, the list is in no particular order.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
    • Continuation of August’s TBR.  I already finished it! yay!
  2. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas
    • Continuation of August’s TBR.  Already Finished! Double yay!
  3. Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
    • Currently reading.  I’m so motivated to finish.
  4. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
    • Now I feel like this series is taunting me. I will not jump to the latest book.  Partly due to determination.  Partly due to the fact I’ve forgotten what happened in this book.
  5. Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas
    • MY PRECIOUS! I WILL READ YOU EVENTUALLY.  DON’T LOOK AT ME LIKE THAT.  MUST. RESIST. SKIPPING. OTHERS.
  6. Unknown Uppercase Box September 2016 book
    • Please, oh please, don’t be the same as Owlcrate once again. I don’t know if I could take it.
  7. Unknown Owlcrate Box September 2016 book
    • 100% sure that this month’s book is Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake.  So far I’ve learned that this box is the Halloween-themed box of the year.  It will included an Out of Print item inspired by Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, something from Court of Thorns and Roses and Six of Crows, and a candle by The Melting Library. I CAN’T WAIT!
  8. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
    • Borrowed it from the library.  I cannot wait to read it! Highly recommended by my favorite booktuber, Little Book Owl.

I feel that since I have already read 2 of these 8 books I’m off to a great start for this month.  I’m going to try to ease back into being more active with all my blog related stuff.

Alright, back to reading Heir of Fire. Catch on the flip side!

August 2016 Uppercase vs Owlcrate + Mini-Review

GUESS WHAT TIME IT IS??  My Uppercase and Owlcrate boxes are here, and it’s time to see who won this month’s throw-down.   Continue reading

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

HP and the cursed child

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J K Rowling

Title:  Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts One and Two (Special Rehearsal Edition)
Series: Harry Potter (Bk 8)
Authors: J. K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, John Tiffany
Rating: 3.7/5

WARNING: SPOILERS! IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK YET AND DO NOT WANT SPOILERS, PLEASE STOP READING RIGHT NOW!!! Instead, why don’t you go read my review of the first 7 books of the Harry Potter series here?

I been putting off publishing this in order to give time for more people to read this book.  Hopefully, enough of you have read it.

Continue reading